Asian domain name scams
I had 3 different people ask me a similar question in the last couple of days regarding emails they have received out of the blue from China. One example went like this:
RE: URGENT registration notice for di-modaclothing
(It's very urgent, Please transfer this email to your CEO or appropriate person, Thanks)
Dear CEO/Principal,
This is Felix Dou---Senior Consultant of domain name registration and solution center in china. have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on October 21, 2010, one company which self-styled "Brown & Sons Ltd" were applying to register "di-modaclothing" as Network Brand and following domain names:
di-modaclothing.cn
di-modaclothing.com.cn
di-modaclothing.net.cn
di-modaclothing.org.cn
di-modaclothing.asia
di-modaclothing.hk
di-modaclothing.com.hk
di-modaclothing.in
di-modaclothing.tw
di-modaclothing.com.tw
After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company's, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for "Brown & Sons Ltd".
Best Regards, Felix Dou
Tel: +86-551-5223-174 || Fax: +86-551-5223-175
Room205,Block12,Youth Community(West),Ningguo Road
Baohe District,HeFei,China(This postal address is used on http://www.ds-china.org.cn - never use this site to regsiter domain names, in fact, never trust any site other than the main ones to register your domain names. At best it will not work, and at worst, your credit card details will be sold on the black market.)
This email is a scam designed to try to scare you in to buying asian domain names through this company. I don't really know whether the company is genuine or a front for a phishing scam, but either way, if you receive any emails like this, just ignore them. No one is trying to register these domains really.
